New Board Members Join Education Northwest


September 24, 2013


Board Chairperson Jeffrey Weldon
Board Chairperson Jeffrey Weldon

Education Northwest is pleased to welcome five new members to our Board of Directors at a meeting in Portland September 25–27. Nominated and elected by 920 member organizations from throughout the Northwest, the directors govern Education Northwest’s operations and represent the educational interests of their respective states.

Joining the board are Robert Wehde, Principal of Bishop Kelly High School in Idaho; Raul Sital, Principal of Pasco Senior High School in Washington; Dr. Doris McEwen, Deputy Director of Curriculum and Instruction for the Oregon Education Investment Board; Dr. Yvonne Curtis, Superintendent of Forest Grove School District in Oregon; and Dr. Steve Atwater, Superintendent of Kenai Peninsula Borough School District of Alaska.

I’m excited to have education leaders from across the region join our board. Their collective experience and wisdom is invaluable in helping to direct our organization.
- Steve Fleischman, Education Northwest's CEO

The new members join 18 other board representatives who include chief state school officers and their designees from the five Northwest states, school superintendents, teachers, principals, higher education representatives, parents, and business/community members. The Board of Directors is led by Jeffrey Weldon, an attorney from Billings, Montana.