To our Black colleagues, students, and families: You matter. Your lives matter. Your trauma and anger matter. Your voices, your stories, and your dreams matter. We mourn with you, we stand with you, and we are committed to doing the collective work of fighting racism in all places and in all forms. Our Pledge

Board of Directors

Photograph of Curtis Yarlott
Board Chairperson Curtis Yarlott

Education Northwest is governed by a board of directors from the Northwest region comprising Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. The board includes chief state school officers and their representatives from the five Northwest states; representatives of Education Northwest member institutions, including public and private schools, professional associations, school districts, higher education institutions, and state boards of education; and others appointed to represent both educator and noneducator constituent groups.

Executive Committee

  • Curtis Yarlott—Chairperson
  • Executive Director and President
  • St. Labre Indian School Educational Association, Montana
  • Gene Sharratt—Vice Chairperson
  • Senior Research Associate
  • The Center for Educational Effectiveness, Washington
  • Chris Spriggs—Secretary/Treasurer
  • Teacher
  • Ferry School District, Idaho
  • Doug Gray
  • Principal
  • Anchorage PAIDEIA Cooperative School, Alaska
  • Monte Woolstenhulme
  • Superintendent
  • Teton School District, Idaho

Board of Directors


  • Sonta Hamilton-Roach
  • Teacher
  • Iditarod Area School District
  • Michael Johnson
  • Commissioner
  • Department of Education & Early Development
  • Scott MacManus
  • Superintendent
  • Alaska Gateway School District
  • Karen Melin
  • Deputy Commissioner
  • Department of Education & Early Development
  • Carol Wren
  • Vice President
  • Shareholder Development Bristol Bay Native Corporation


  • Aleksandra Hollingshead
  • Associate Professor
  • University of Idaho
  • Wendy Horman
  • Idaho State Representative
  • Idaho State Legislature
  • Tim McMurtrey
  • Deputy Superintendent of Operations
  • Idaho State Department of Education
  • Sherri Ybarra
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Idaho Department of Education


  • Sharyl Allen
  • Deputy Superintendent
  • Montana Office of Public Instruction
  • Elsie Arntzen
  • State Superintendent
  • Montana Office of Public Instruction
  • Alexander Ator
  • Superintendent
  • Principal Roberts School District
  • Tammy Lacey
  • Superintendent
  • Great Falls Public Schools
  • Greg Upham
  • Superintendent
  • Billings Public Schools


  • Colt Gill
  • Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Department of Education
  • Rita Moore
  • Director
  • Board of Education Portland Public Schools
  • Brian Reeder
  • Assistant Superintendent
  • Department of Education
  • Alma Trinidad
  • Associate Professor
  • Portland State University
  • Mark Witty
  • Superintendent
  • Baker City School District 5J
  • Mark Yee
  • Managing Director
  • Private Wealth Management U.S. Bank, Oregon


  • Debra Clemens
  • Superintendent
  • North Thurston Public Schools
  • Michaela Miller
  • Deputy Superintendent
  • WA Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Chris Reykdal
  • State Superintendent
  • WA Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Karina Vega-Villa
  • Program Director
  • Wenatchee Valley College

Note: For board members and staff only - log in required